Robinsons Books of the Month: May


We are heading into a new month, which means that we have three brand new books of the month!

For our fiction BOtM we have Book of Night a stunning adult debut by Holly Black, a modern dark fantasy of shadowy thieves and secret societies in the vein of Ninth House and The Night Circus; our Y.A BOtM we have the prequel to We Were Liars, Family of Liars, the page-turning must-read thriller which takes readers back to the story of another summer, another generation, and the secrets that will haunt them for decades to come; and our non-fiction BOtM A Caring Life, takes us behind the scenes of his remarkable nursing career and the moving stories of hope, determination and loss that underpinned it.


A Caring Life
by Keith Cox

Non-Fiction

As a nurse for nearly fifty years, Keith Cox provided expert care and comfort to countless people facing the unimaginable.

With insight and sensitivity, A Caring Life takes us behind the scenes of his remarkable nursing career and the moving stories of hope, determination and loss that underpinned it. Along the way, he shares lessons gained from a career spent confronting mortality, from finding joy in difficult circumstances to understanding that true strength comes in thinking of others and being part of a community.

Over the years, Keith has seen dramatic advances in medical treatment, as well as the limits of what medical intervention can achieve – which is why compassion and grace are his guiding principles, both on the ward and in his own life.

A Caring Life is the inspirational story of a nursing trailblazer who has learnt firsthand the value of human connection and kindness, in challenging times and in everyday life – and the satisfaction of living a life of service and meaning.


Book Of Night
by Holly Black

Fiction

#1 New York Times bestselling author Holly Black makes her stunning adult debut with Book of Night, a modern dark fantasy of shadowy thieves and secret societies in the vein of Ninth House and The Night Circus

In Charlie Hall’s world, shadows can be altered, for entertainment and cosmetic preferences-but also to increase power and influence. You can alter someone’s feelings-and memories-but manipulating shadows has a cost, with the potential to take hours or days from your life. Your shadow holds all the parts of you that you want to keep hidden-a second self, standing just to your left, walking behind you into lit rooms.

And sometimes, it has a life of its own.

Charlie is a low-level con artist, working as a bartender while trying to distance herself from the powerful and dangerous underground world of shadow trading. She gets by doing odd jobs for her patrons and the naive new money in her town at the edge of the Berkshires.

But when a terrible figure from her past returns, Charlie’s present life is thrown into chaos, and her future seems at best, unclear-and at worst, non-existent. Determined to survive, Charlie throws herself into a maelstrom of secrets and murder, setting her against a cast of doppelgangers, mercurial billionaires, shadow thieves, and her own sister-all desperate to control the magic of the shadows.

With sharp angles and prose, and a sinister bent, Holly Black is a master of shadow and story stitching. Remember while you read, light isn’t playing tricks in Book of Night, the people are.


Family Of Liars
by E. Lockhart

Young Adult

The page-turning must-read thriller prequel to We Were Liars – #1 New York Times bestseller and TikTok sensation – takes readers back to the story of another summer, another generation, and the secrets that will haunt them for decades to come. Includes a hand-drawn map and family tree.

Prequel to WE WERE LIARS, the #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER and award-winning YA novel that TikTok can’t stop talking about!

A windswept private island off the coast of Massachusetts.
A hungry ocean, churning with secrets and sorrow.
A fiery, addicted heiress. An irresistible, unpredictable boy.
A summer of unforgivable betrayal and terrible mistakes.

Welcome back to the Sinclair family.

They were always liars.

Praise for We Were Liars:


For stock availability, Click & collect and Home delivery options, please see the website for details
here. Or alternatively, call your local store to discuss the above options (03) 9783 6488.

Happy Reading!
From the team at Robinsons Bookshop

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s